Traditional Chinese Medicine consists of: 

  • Acupuncture
  • Herbal Medicine
  • Cupping - sliding or static application
  • Moxa - heating areas
  • Dietary therapy
  • Exercise
  • Lifestyle management

Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) is distinctly different to Western Medicine, as many of the concepts emphasised in TCM have no true translation into Western Medicine.
These concepts include:

Qi – a vital energy or life force called Qi which circulates throughout the body through a system of pathways known as meridians. There are a total of 20 meridians: 12 primary meridians, which correspond to specific organs, organ systems or functions, and eight secondary meridians. Imbalances or disharmony in the flow of Qi causes illness, correction of this flow allows the body to return back into balance.

Yin & Yang - The theory of yin and yang is the most fundamental concept of TCM. The concept of two opposing, yet complementary forces that shape the world and all of life. Nothing is ever all yin or all yang, but a dynamic balance between these two forces. Without yin, there would be no yang, and without yang, no yin. An example would be when winter turns into spring; it is considered a changing from yin to yang.

Eight Principles – are an important basic concept in TCM, Using The Eight Principles used to analyse symptoms and categorise conditions exist as four pairs of polar opposites; cold/heat, interior/exterior, excess/deficiency, and yin/yang. Health problems are diagnosed using combinations of the eight principles and allow us to understand the basic characteristics of the any presenting imbalance.

Five Element Theory – TCM also uses the Theory of Five Elements; Fire, Earth, Metal, Water, and Wood. This theory states that everything moves in cycles. Each of the elements is associated with a season, as well as particular organs and senses of the body.